County Tipperary Ireland

Where do you want to go? Click categories below.

map of tipperary people of tipperary

Welcome to

The name Tipperary is taken from the Irish 'Tiobraid Arann', which means 'the well of Era', referring to the River Ara.

County Tipperary is the largest inland county in Ireland.

Because of its size, in 1838, the county was divided into two administrative areas - the North Riding and South Riding which are still managed as separate entities. The principal town in the North is Nenagh while the South riding is administered from Clonmel

The population of both North and South Tipperary is estimated to be in excess of 130,000.

The centre of County Tipperary is known as 'the Golden Vale', a fertile stretch of land in the basin of the River Suir, which crosses the county from north to south. Tipperary is bound by mountains to the south and west with a border on Lough Derg in the north thus offering a superb range of outdoor activities for visitors and locals alike.

County Tipperary has a strong sporting history and is home to the Gaelic Games of Hurling, Gaelic Football, Camogie and Handball.

Other significant towns are Tipperary, Cahir, Carrick-on-Suir, Cashel, Roscrea, Templemore and Thurles.

Its a long way to Tipperary - but you have found us now!



Home Page - Advertising with us - Contact us - Links

Arts & Crafts - Bed & Breakfast - Sports & Events - Hotels - Castles to Rent - Golf Clubs
Map Ireland - Images of Tipperary - Equestrian - Places of Interest - Property for Sale
Pubs & Restaurants - Self Catering - Towns & Villages - Flights Ireland - Irish Flag